Making the Choice

In the past few months, I’ve been looking into publishing. Like most writers do, I always dreamed about a big publisher accepting my book, but I recently started comparing traditional publication to self publication. After a lot of consideration, and a lot of difficulty getting over a decision made years ago, I decided instead to self publish my work. It is not an easy decision to make, but once you take the time to look at both the pros and cons of each option, you may end up realizing that your original choice is not really the one for you.

Though traditional publishing could do so much more in getting my name out there and selling my books, I want to be able to keep all rights in my own work. When looking into what starting authors make with major and even smaller publishers, I became less willing to give out what I have put so much effort into.

By self publishing, you may not have the same chances, but you won’t be giving away a permanent percentage for services. You can still get help when and if needed, you will just be paying an upfront price rather than giving away a percentage of every book sold.  With self publication, you can always try something different. It’s a bit of  a risk, but it’s not a risk that will tie you down. Both methods of publication have something different to offer and both will also stand weak in places where the other is strong.

Leave a Reply

Inky Edits

Words Are A Lens To Focus One's Mind

The Breakdown of Taboo

Is Taboo Dying?

littleoldladywho.net

poems, poets, and prosody

Miss Modernist

Written Word of the Modern Era

suzjones.wordpress.com/

"In three words I can sum up everything I have learned about life: It goes on" - Robert Frost

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

inky waves

A message in a bottle bundled and tumbled on inky waves

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

The Anxious Educator

Realizations, Resources, and Rememberings

Not This Song

A storytelling site about dual diagnosis recovery

Never Quite Broken

What you did not build up, you cannot tear down.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

