Trading My Textbooks for Notebooks

School is over for the time being! I am finally on vacation, from homework and classes at the very least. 

I still have to go to  work during just about the entire summer, and I also have other plans that will get in the way of a few things. Still, I have a lot more time on my hands than I have had in the past few months. Now that I have more time, I can spend a lot of it writing. 

Though this is very exciting for me, it is also a tad bit stressing. I know that once I’m back in school, I will have to stop writing again. I’ve managed to write quite a bit of poetry when I took breaks, between classes, at home, at work, and, I admit it, in some of my classes. It helped keep me from breaking down under all of the work I piled up on myself. 

But, even though I’ve managed to write a lot of poetry, my novels and stories have been hidden away in notebooks, USB drives, and google drives, completely untouched. I have just a few months to give them my full attention, and none of them will really get full attention. Even in my hobby, my haven away from everything else, I tend to put too much on my plate. I want to finish editing a manuscript this summer. It’s a complete story, but has a long way to go in terms of editing. There’s also Fading Lilies, which I really want to work on. I still have the seventh chapter on my computer waiting to be edited so that I can share it here with all of you. I would really like to finish that story this summer, but that may not be reasonable. I have no set limit on how long I want it to be yet. On top of that, I’m working on a sequel to the novel I finished. It’s not a priority for the time being, but getting further into that story may help me make better decisions for my current manuscript. 

So, to try managing all of that, I’ve decided to do what I did to survive my homework. Schedule everything. I’ve designated days to edit the manuscript, days to work on Fading Lilies, and one day a week for the sequel in progress. I did this before, and it helped me quite a bit with my writing. I got more done than I planned on. The only downside is that it makes writing feel a lot more like work. If it feels like work, I lose motivation. The longer it goes, the worse it gets, but the beginning starts out perfectly fine. All I’m hoping for at this moment is that I can stay motivated just until I get back to school. 

What do you think? Should I put less time into this or maybe try another approach? How has your own scheduling and planning worked out for you? 

Leave a Reply

Inky Edits

Words Are A Lens To Focus One's Mind

The Breakdown of Taboo

Is Taboo Dying?

littleoldladywho.net

poems, poets, and prosody

Miss Modernist

Written Word of the Modern Era

suzjones.wordpress.com/

"In three words I can sum up everything I have learned about life: It goes on" - Robert Frost

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

inky waves

A message in a bottle bundled and tumbled on inky waves

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

The Anxious Educator

Realizations, Resources, and Rememberings

Not This Song

A storytelling site about dual diagnosis recovery

Never Quite Broken

What you did not build up, you cannot tear down.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

